Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Saint Joseph's of Maine Men's Soccer Collects Four GNAC Major Awards


WINTHROP, Mass. – Having not allowed a goal all season long entering the NCAA Division III Tournament, Great Northeast Athletic Conference champion Saint Joseph's College of Maine has placed nine student-athletes on the 2017 GNAC Men's Soccer All-Conference Teams, which were announced on Monday.

The Monks also collected four major awards, as junior forward Brett Mattos was selected as the GNAC Offensive Player of the Year, junior back Dalton Gaumer was named the GNAC Defensive Player of the Year and junior goalkeeper Blake Mullen was honored as the GNAC Goalkeeper of the Year. Fourth-year head coach Adrian Dubois was voted as the GNAC Coach of the Year after guiding SJC to its second straight GNAC crown and NCAA appearance.

The Monks own an 18-0-1 overall record and have outscored opponents, 42-0, on the season. Their lone draw came against Norwich University on September 16.

Mattos leads the GNAC in goals (19) and points (48), while the 6-foot-7 Mullen has turned away all 42 shots on goal he has faced this season for a perfect 0.00 goals-against average and 1.000 save percentage.

Albertus Magnus College freshman forward Salah Oumorou was voted the GNAC Rookie of the Year, as voted upon by the league's head coaches. The rookie finished third among GNAC leaders with 32 points on 15 goals – including four game-winners – and two assists.

Joining Mattos, Gaumer, and Mullen on the All-GNAC First Team was Monks junior midfielder JoJo Strobino. Also receiving First Team recognition were Mount Ida College junior Juan Brenes, Johnson & Wales University juniors Teagan Drake, Jozef Jennings and Robert Hayman, and Norwich University senior Camilo Estrada and junior Matt Mazzola.

Rivier University received the annual Institutional Sportsmanship Award. For the complete All-Conference selections and Teams, please see below.

First Team
F – Salah Oumorou, Albertus Magnus (Fr., West Haven, Conn.)
F – Juan Brenes, Mount Ida (Jr., Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic)
F – Brett Mattos, Saint Joseph's (Me.) (Jr., Mahopac, N.Y.)
M – Teagan Drake, Johnson & Wales (RI) (Jr., Waterbury, Vt.)
M – Jozef Jennings, Johnson & Wales (RI) (Jr., Barrington, R.I.)
M – Camilo Estrada, Norwich (Sr., Pawtucket, R.I.)
M – JoJo Strobino, Saint Joseph's (Me.) (So., Clifton, N.J.)
B – Robert Hayman, Johnson & Wales (RI) (Jr., Tomkins Cove N.Y.)
B – Matt Mazzola, Norwich (Jr., Ridgefield, Conn.)
B – Dalton Gaumer, Saint Joseph's (Me.) (Jr., Corona, Calif.)
GK – Blake Mullen, Saint Joseph's (Me.) (Jr., Manchester, Conn.)

Second Team
F – Derek Triana, Regis (Mass.) (Jr., Port St. Lucie, Fla.)
F – Trevor Lopes, Saint Joseph's (Me.) (Sr., Cumberland, R.I.)
F – Christian Restrepo, Suffolk (So., Everett, Mass.)
M – Jared Barroso, Mount Ida (So., Central Falls R.I.)
M – Colin Lozito, Norwich (Sr., Wilmington, Vt.)
M – Litchie Barbosa, Regis (Mass.) (Jr., Boston, Mass.)
M – Rory Twomey, Saint Joseph's (Me.) (Jr., South Windsor, Conn.)
B – Riley McNicholas, Johnson & Wales (RI) (Jr., Hopkinton N.H.)
B – Noah Robinson, Saint Joseph's (Me.) (So., Wappingers Falls, N.Y.)
B – Jackson Taylor, Saint Joseph's (Me.) (So., Gorham, Maine)
GK – Nicholas Mancini, Johnson & Wales (RI) (Sr., Toms River, N.J.)

Third Team
F – Luke Gleadle, Norwich (So., Gilbert, Ariz.)
F – Mitchell Duncan, Saint Joseph's (Me.) (So., Sanford, Maine)
F – James Fisher, Suffolk (So., Longmeadow, Mass.)
M – Justyn Broderick, Albertus Magnus (Sr., Orange, Conn.)
M – Jonathan Santos, Mount Ida (Fr., Kearney N.J.)
M – Staige Davis, Norwich (Fr., Shelburne, Vt.)
M – Jordan Casey, Suffolk (Jr., East Hampton, Conn.)
B – David Quaye, Emmanuel (Mass.) (Jr., Ashburnham, Mass.)
B – Christian Martins, Mount Ida (Sr., Westbrook Conn.)
B – Greg Zydanowicz, Norwich (Sr., Newington, Conn.)
GK – Brendan Germano, Norwich (Jr., Monroe Township, N.J.)

Offensive Player of the Year – Brett Mattos, Saint Joseph's (Me.)
Defensive Player of the Year – Dalton Gaumer, Saint Joseph's (Me.)
Goalkeeper of the Year – Blake Mullen, Saint Joseph's (Me.)
Rookie of the Year –
Salah Oumorou, Albertus Magnus
Coach of the Year – Adrian Dubois, Saint Joseph's (Maine)
Institutional Sportsmanship Award – Rivier University

All-Sportsmanship Team
Ritchy Jean-Pierre, Albertus Magnus (Sr., Fairfield, Conn.)
Connor Francis, Anna Maria (Fr., Colchester, Conn.)
Jason Miech, Emmanuel (Sr., Coventry, R.I.)
Robert Hayman, Johnson & Wales (Jr., Tomkins Cove, N.Y.)
Connor Wall, Lasell (Jr., East Hampton, Conn.)
Jeremy Sayers, Mount Ida (Sr., Portsmouth, N.H.)
Matt Hilton, Norwich (Jr., Colorado Springs, Colo.)
Collin Thurston, Regis (Mass.) (Sr., Temecula, Calif.)
Ahmed Abdelaziz, Rivier (Jr., Nashua, N.H.)
Nicholas Seta, Saint Joseph's (ME) (Jr., Hampton, N.H.)
Jackson Hines, Suffolk (So., Bristol, Conn.)

Founded in 1995, the Great Northeast Athletic Conference (GNAC) is an NCAA Division III association made up of 13 member institutions and over 3,000 student-athletes across the New England region. Each year, the GNAC sponsors and administers 20 championships, while balancing academic integrity, athletic opportunities and community involvement.