Ramapo's Willen Feygin Tabbed GNAC Men’s Tennis Player of the Year


WINTHROP, Mass. – Ramapo College sophomore Willen Feygin has been named the 2016 GNAC Men's Tennis Player of the Year, as voted upon by the league's head coaches. The 6-3, 190-pound Feygin went 13-2 overall at top flight for the Roadrunners, including 2-0 in GNAC play. He also won both his matches in the GNAC Tournament Semifinals and Final in leading Ramapo to its fourth consecutive conference championship and NCAA Tournament berth.

Albertus Magnus College freshman Steven Woodfield was voted the GNAC Rookie of the Year and was also selected All-GNAC Second Team Singles. The Naugatuck, Conn. native went 8-3 overall at No. 5 Singles for the Falcons and was voted GNAC Rookie of the Week on three occasions.

Johnson & Wales University first-year head coach Devin Kitterick was voted the GNAC Coach of the Year by his peers, as the Wildcats went 13-5 overall and advanced to the GNAC title match against Ramapo this past weekend. JWU also saw four student-athletes receive All-Conference honors.

Joining Feygin on the GNAC First Team Singles All-Conference was sophomore classmate Michael Abelev, who went 10-2 overall at No. 2 and No. 3 Singles.

Johnson & Wales placed a pair on the First Team in junior Andre Barbero and sophomore Taylor Farmer. Barbero went 8-7 at top flight for the Wildcats, while Farmer went 13-1 overall, including 7-0 at No. 4 Singles. Barbero also earned First Team Doubles accolades with junior teammate Nicholas Auffret, as the tandem went 11-6 at No. 1 doubles this season. Auffret also garnered Second Team Singles recognition, as did senior teammate Jason Chavenson.

Albertus Magnus senior Pete Zacharias and Norwich University junior Ian Hyte rounded out the First Team Singles selections. Zacharias went 7-4 at No.1 Singles for the Falcons, while Hyte was 6-5 at No. 1 Singles for the Cadets.

For the complete list of GNAC All-Conference and All-Sportsmanship selections, please see below.

Founded in 1995, the Great Northeast Athletic Conference (GNAC) is an NCAA Division III association made up of 12 member institutions and over 3,000 student-athletes across the New England region. Each year, the GNAC sponsors and administers 17 championships, while balancing academic integrity, athletic opportunities and community involvement. 

First Team Singles
Pete Zacharias, Albertus Magnus (Sr., North Haven, Conn.)
Andre Barbero, Johnson & Wales (Jr., Brielle, N.J.)
Taylor Farmer, Johnson & Wales (So., Carmel, Ind.)
Ian Hyte, Norwich (Jr., Marblehead, Mass.)
Michael Abelev, Ramapo (So., Fair Lawn, N.J.)
Willen Feygin, Ramapo (So., Fair Lawn, N.J.)

First Team Doubles
Nicholas Auffret / Andre Barbero, Johnson & Wales

Second Team Singles
Steven Woodfield, Albertus Magnus (Fr., Naugatuck, Conn.)
Nicholas Auffret, Johnson & Wales (Jr., Holtsville, N.Y.)
Jason Chavenson, Johnson & Wales (Sr., Upper Dublin, Pa.)
Jay Carter, Norwich (Glassboro, N.J.)
Anthony Gendin, Rutgers-Camden (Jr., Voorhees, N.J.)
Alonso Vela, Suffolk (So., Calexico, Calif.)

Second Team Doubles
Francesco Saia / Alonso Vela, Suffolk

Player of the Year – Willen Feygin, Ramapo
Rookie of the Year –
Steven Woodfield, Albertus Magnus
Coach of the Year –
Devin Kitterick, Johnson & Wales
Institutional Sportsmanship Award –
Rutgers University-Camden

All-Sportsmanship Team
Ahmed Abdulateef, Albertus Magnus (Sr., Hamden, Conn.)
Jason Chavenson, Johnson & Wales (Upper Dublin, Pa.)
Jeff Purdy, Norwich (So., Grantham, N.H.)
Adam Patrovics, Ramapo (So., Hasbrouck Heights, N.J.)
Jason Lin, Rutgers-Camden (Jr., Shirley, N.Y.)
Benjamin Lioue , Rutgers-Newark (Sr., Avenel, N.J.)
Vincent Le, Suffolk (Sr., Wilmington, Mass.)